Drunk driving charges have serious consequences, and if you are under 21 it is crucial to familiarize yourself with the laws in this state. In New Jersey, the legal limit for drivers who have not reached the legal drinking age is much lower in comparison to drivers 21 and older.
It is also important to review the potential penalties that could result from these allegations.
The legal limit for underage drivers in New Jersey
According to the Department of Law and Public Safety, New Jersey has a zero-tolerance law in place for drivers under 21. Under this law, it is illegal for drivers who have not reached the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any detectable alcohol in their system. As a result, if you are under 21 and a law enforcement official finds that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .01 or higher, you could face drunk driving charges.
The penalties for underage drunk driving in New Jersey
If charged with drunk driving as someone under the age of 21, you could face a number of serious penalties. You could lose your driving privileges for up to 90 days and the court could require you to complete a traffic safety program. Furthermore, you could have to perform up to 30 days of community service.
Aside from penalties imposed by the court, you could struggle with a shattered reputation and face challenges later in life as a result of your record. It is extremely important to approach a drunk driving case with caution and carefully review all options as well as the details of your case.