A DUI conviction can lead to many penalties that could affect your employment, reputation, personal life and finances. For example, if you get arrested for DUI for the first time, you could face up to 30 days imprisonment, a fine of up to $500 and elevated insurance rates. You may also have to participate in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driving Program.
According to the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety, you could face penalties for drinking and driving with a blood alcohol content level at or above 0.08%. Although you may want to avoid or reduce the severity of these penalties, there are things you should avoid doing during a DUI arrest.
Answering questions in detail
When the law enforcement official conducting the arrests asks you questions, do not provide extensive detail. Instead, simply answer any questions asked with basic “yes” or “no” answers.
Refusing to comply with requests
The law enforcement official may ask for certain documentation, like your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance, before moving the arrest further. Have these documents ready to hand over as soon as you get pulled over.
Trying to flee the scene
Do not try to run away or drive away from the scene of the arrest. This could result in additional penalties and further complications with the law.
After you get arrested for drinking and driving, do not forget about any upcoming hearings and court dates. Complying with the legal process and defending your legal rights can help you minimize the consequences you face after allegedly driving under the influence of alcohol.